Loyola University Maryland

Communication Department

Faculty and Staff

image divider

Tenured Faculty

Dr. Neil Alperstein, Professor
College Center M014H
410-617-2548
nalperstein@loyola.edu
Blog: www.emergingmedia360.org
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Global Advertising, Popular Culture, Research Experience
Get to know Dr. Alperstein, while he discusses his study of the Imaginary Social Relationship and the MA in Emerging Media: 


Dr. Russell J. Cook, Professor
College Center M014F
410-617-2728
rjcook@loyola.edu 
Web: evergreen.loyola.edu/~rjcook
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Introduction to Multimedia, Video Production, Video Animation, Documentary Film
Dr. Cook discusses the core ideas of media communication and its effects, both positive and negative, on society:
 


Dr. Elliot King, Professor and Chair
College Center M014G
410-617-2819
eking@loyola.edu
Blog: www.twitter.com/joyofjournalism
Teaching Areas: Media Culture and Society, Digital Culture, Travel Reporting
Dr. King invites students to study and explore the new media platforms with him in the MA for Emerging Media program:
 


Dr. Jonathan Lillie, Associate Professor
College Center M014M
410-617-5617
jlillie@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Journalism, Interactive Media, Online Journalism, Web Design
Dr. Lillie explains the collaborative tools used in the MA in Emerging Media program to analyze new media technologies, and build a sense of fellowship amongst faculty and students:

Tenure-Track Faculty

Dr. Tania Cantrell Rosas-Moreno, Assistant Professor
College Center M014Q
410-617-2196
tcrosasmoreno@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas:  Introduction to Public Relations, Writing for Public Relations, International Public Relations, Senior Capstone in Public Relations
Dr. Rosas-Moreno discusses her teaching methods, which combine social media platforms and her love of international public relations, for the MA in Emerging Media program:  


 


Dr. Greg Hoplamazian, Assistant Professor
College Center M014E
410-617-2355
gjhoplamazian@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Advertising and Society, Ad Copywriting
Dr. Hoplamazian presents his teaching goals to explore the new media environment, where users create and consume content, and how he plans to help his students learn the proper uses and limitations of social media in the Emerging Media graduate program: 
 


Dr. Sara Magee, Assistant Professor
College Center M014I
410-617-2242
scmagee@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Broadcast and Backpack Journalism
Dr. Magee invites graduate students to study the ethics and issues surrounding emerging media, while urging them to better understand the tools and technology used to gather information: 
 


Dr. Paola Pascual-Ferrá, Assistant Professor
College Center M014P
410-617-5789
ppascualferra@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Public Relations, Writing for Public Relations


Dr. Karsonya (Kaye) Wise Whitehead, Assistant Professor
College Center M014K
410-617-2435
kewhitehead@loyola.edu
Website: http://kayewisewhitehead.com/
Academic Page: http://loyola.academia.edu/KayeWiseWhitehead
Twitter: @kayewhitehead
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Story Development and Scripting, Documentary Tradition, Documentary Production, Baltimore Stories Project

Emeritus Faculty  

Andrew Ciofalo, Professor
aciofalo@loyola.edu

2013-2014 Cardin Chair 

Dr. Allen Palmer
Fall Semester: College Center M014I
Spring Semester: College Center M014M
410-617-2107
apalmer2@loyola.edu

Program Assistant / Apprentice House Manager

Ms. Erin Richardson
College Center Room M014C
410-617-2528
erichardson@loyola.edu

Full-Time Affiliate Faculty

Professor Gerard Blair
College Center Room M014R
410-617-5337
grblair@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Senior Capstone in Advertising, Ad Copywriting

Professor Martin Conway
College Center M014R
410-617-5246
mconway2@loyola.edu Blog: www.pressboxonline.com/sports-business-report
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Introduction to Communication 
 
Dr. Katherine Hughes
College Center M014D
410-617-5783
kahughes1@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Multimedia, Graphic Design, Web Design

Part-Time Affiliate Faculty

Dr. Kevin Atticks
College Center M014D
410-617-5265
katticks@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Public Relations, Graphic Design, Magazine and Book Publishing
Advising Areas: The Greyhound Student Newspaper, Apprentice House Publisher

Professor David Belz
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
dbelz@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication

Professor Camilla Carr
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
cjcarr@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Introduction to Journalism

Dr. Rodney Carveth
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
Teaching Area: Introduction to Advertising

Professor Daniel Collins
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
dccollins@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Public Relations  

Professor Walter Dobrzycki
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
wfdobrzycki@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Popular Culture
 
Professor Nora Frenkiel
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
nfrenkiel@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Journalism, The Magazine Article, Senior Capstone in Magazine Publishing
 
Professor Pamela Friedman
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
ppfriedman@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Public Speaking I & II

Professor Jennifer Gilbert
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
jggilbert@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Introduction to Journalism

Professor Dorothy Harris
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
dharris5@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Public Speaking I & II, Introduction to Communication
 
Dr. Chris Heidelberg
Dorothy Day Hall B010
410-617-5272
caheidelberg@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Multimedia, Video Production

Dr. Elli Lieberman
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
elieberman@loyola.edu
Teaching Area:  Media and the Political Process

Professor John McIntyre
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
jmcintyre@loyola.edu 
Teaching Area: Copy Editing

Professor Susan McShea
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
sbmcshea@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Intro to Public Relations, Case Studies in Public Relations

Professor Amy Rosewater (Halushka)
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
ahalushka@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Sports Writing, Travel Reporting

Professor Tunji Sawyer
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
tsawyer2@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Introduction to Advertising

Professor Julie Sayo
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
jdsayo@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Graphics I & II

Karen Smedley
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
kbsmedley@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Public Relations, Writing for Public Relations, Case Studies in Public Relations

Professor John Stack
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
jstack@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Ad Copy Writing, Advertising Management, Communication Research

Professor Timothy Teeling
College Center M014L
410-617-5617
tdteeling@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Web II

Dr. Timothy Tooten, Sr.
Dorothy Day Hall B010
410-617-5272
ttooten@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Broadcast Journalism

Professor Mitchell Tropin
College Center M014L
410-617-55617
mjtropin@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Introduction to Communication, Journalism I

Professor Reagan Warfield
Dorothy Day Hall B010
410-617-5272
rwarfield@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Radio, Advanced Radio Production

Professor Jessica Wilson
College Center M014L
410-617-2528
jwilson1@loyola.edu  
Teaching Area: Ad Copywriting

Professor Joseph Winter
College Center M014L
410-617-2617
jwinter@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Public Relations and Writing for Public Relations

Campus Media Managers

Mr. John Devecka
WLOY-Radio, Bellarmine Hall
410-617-5349
jdevecka@loyola.edu
Advising Area: WLOY-Radio Operations Manager
 
Professor H. Jay Dunmore
Dorothy Day Hall Room B010
410-617-5119
hjdunmore@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Video I, Video Animation
Advising Area: GreyComm Studios 

Master of Arts in Emerging Media

Ms. Veronica Gunnerson
Director of Program Operations
College Center M014N
410-617-5778
vgunnerson@loyola.edu
Advising Area: Undergraduate Internships