Loyola University Maryland

Medieval Studies

Faculty

image divider

Faculty associated with the Medieval studies minor program span various departments. They are as follows:

Frederick Bauerschmidt (Theology)
Areas of study: Medieval Mystical Writers; Theology of Thomas Aquinas
B.A., University of the South; M.A.R., Yale University; Ph.D., Duke University
fbauerschmidt@loyola.edu
410-617-2042

Ursula Beitter (Modern Languages and Literatures)
Areas of study: Heroic Epic; Niebelungenlied; Minnesang (German courtly love)
B.A., Brooklyn College; M.A., Ph.D., New York University
ubeitter@loyola.edu
410-617-2514

Kerry Boeye (Fine Arts)
Medieval Studies Minor Co-coordinator
Areas of Study: Medieval manuscript illumination, representations of King Solomon
Ph.D., University of Chicago
kpboeye@loyola.edu

Angela Christman (Theology)
Areas of study: Christian Biblical Interpretation, Augustine, Patristics
B.A., Ph.D., University of Virginia; M.Div., Virginia Technological Seminary
achristman@loyola.edu
410-617-2359

Kelly DeVries (History)
Areas of study: Medieval History, Military History and History of Technology
B.A., Brigham Young University; M.A., Ph.D., University of Toronto
kdevries@loyola.edu
410-617-2661

Kathleen Forni (English)
Area of study: Chaucerian apocrypha
B.A., University of California (Berkeley); M.A., University of California (Los Angeles); Ph.D., University of Southern California
kforni@loyola.edu
410-617-2816

Leslie Zarker Morgan (Modern Languages and Literatures)
Medieval Studies Minor Co-coordinator
Areas of study: Medieval Italian and French Literature, especially romance epic
A.B., Mt. Holyoke College; M.A., Middlebury College; Ph.D., Yale University
lmorgan@loyola.edu
410-617-2926

Barnaby Nygren (Art History/Fine Arts)
Areas of study: Italian and Northern Renaissance Art
B.A., Harvard College; M.A., Courtauld Institute (London); Ph.D., Harvard University
brnygren@loyola.edu
410-617-2885

Martha Taylor (Classics)
Areas of study: Classical Art and Archaeology; Republican Roman and Greek history
A.B., Bryn Mawr College; M.A., Ph.D., Stanford University
mtaylor@loyola.edu
410-617-2636

Jeffrey C. Witt (Philosophy)
Areas of Study: Medieval Philosophy and Theology (especially the 14th and 15th centuries)
B.A. Wheaton College; M.A., Ph.D. Boston College
http://jeffreycwitt.com 
jcwitt@loyola.edu

updated 4/14/14